Chapter Three

I never cared about math but I can’t imagine a day where I really hated it. My head was killing me and learning formulas for finding surface area was just not helping.

“Hey Allie, what’s the answer you got for number eleven?” Erica asked, scratching her head with her pencil.

“I haven’t done any of it, my head hurts way too much to think,” I admitted, facedown on the table.

“You do look really sick, maybe you should go down to the nurse’s office,” She suggested.

“I guess I should before I die,” I sighed, slowly walking up to the teacher’s desk.

But I never made it there. Suddenly, I felt a nauseous wave hit me and my vision clouded. Then the ground rushed up to meet me when all went black.

***

When I woke up again, I was lying on a bed in the nurse’s office with a dull throb in my head. I looked around and saw the nurse, sitting at the desk with her head bent over a book.

“What am I doing here?” I asked her.

The nurse looked up and exclaimed “Hey! You’re awake! You’ve been out for a really long time. How do you feel?”

“I feel ok but what am I doing here?” I repeated.

“You don’t remember? You fainted during class; you’ve been unconscious for about half an hour.” The nurse paused abruptly, “Now, that I think of it, I do believe one of your friends came by right before you woke up. He was very polite and asked if you were ok.”

He? “Um, do you know his name? I don’t think I know any boys who would care enough to come and check on me.” I asked sheepishly.

“Oh yeah! His name was Mason. He was actually the one who brought you here. You should probably thank him, he was very worried about you.”

Mason helped me? Why would he do that? Confused, I wandered back to the cafeteria where everyone was having lunch. Maybe he was sorry for what happened this morning…

“Allie! There you are! Geez, I was so worried!” Suddenly a flying mess of red hair ran into me.

“Erica! What’s wrong?”

“What do you mean ‘what’s wrong’? I was really scared! You like died in the middle of the classroom!” she cried.

Oh yeah, I fainted in class… “Sorry about that, my head was hurting really badly. I’m really sorry!” I apologized.

Erica glared at me for a minute then said finally, “Fine! I forgive you! Now! We need to talk!”

“Um, about what?” I asked, confused.

“You know what I’m talking about! What’s going on between you and Mason?” she asked.

“What? Nothing’s going on with us!”

“Sure Alison! Sure.” She said sarcastically.

“I’m serious! There is nothing-”

“Alison.” Someone interrupted me, and judging by Erica’s face, it wasn’t the person I really wanted to see.

I turned around slowly and grinned widely, “Mason! What’s up?” silently, I heard Erica laugh and poke my back, “Do you need something?”

“Ms. Robinson told me to tell you that she wants you to come by her class right now.” He said, staring at me through his clear blue eyes.

“Oh, um, thanks. But why does she want me? I don’t really want to see her…” I trailed off.

Ms. Robinson was the evil English teacher. Seriously, she was evil. She was old and cranky and she hated all of her students, even the ones who weren’t her students. She yelled a lot and she also liked to single people out and scold them in front of the class. I always had this feeling that she had a personal grudge against me.

Naturally, I wouldn’t feel too good about going alone to her class.

I smiled weakly, “I guess I should go if I don’t want extra homework.”

Reluctantly, I walked to Ms. Robinson’s classroom door. Quietly, I knocked and held my breath. Please don’t be here. Please don’t be here. I prayed in my head.

Then the door slid open to welcome me to a dark room. I stepped in and called out, “Hello? Ms. Robinson?”

“Hello Alison. We’ve been waiting for you.” A voice hissed. Suddenly, the door slammed shut, plunging me into complete darkness.

That is Chapter Three everyone! Again feedback will be greatly appreciated! Thank you!

Read on: Chapter Four

9 thoughts on “Chapter Three

Leave a Reply

