Chapter Five

Mason was still carrying me over his shoulder when I had calmed down from the freak attack, then the rapid-fire questions started, “Mason? What happened back there with Ms. Robinson? What deal were you talking about? And what’s a Ringmaster?” But, of course, Mason wasn’t talking.

“Please! I’m really confused and I just want to know what’s going on!” I was practically begging now.

But the only thing he did was drop me on a chair in the nurse’s office and say; “Wait here,” before disappearing into another office.

What am I suppose to do? Wait like he said or run away? But I was pretty shaken up so I don’t think I could get far… Yeah, maybe I should just wait here and see what happens.

Then Mason returned, “Hey, what are those for?” I asked, pointing to a stack of wet paper towels in his hand.

He gave me a weird look and said; “Can’t you feel it? You got cut on your neck.”

Shocked, I raised my hand to touch my throat and felt something warm and sticky. Blood. “Whoa, I didn’t know…”

“Yeah, I’ve noticed.” Mason smirked, moving my hand and pressing a wet paper towel to my neck. I glanced down and my eyes widened; the once white napkin was now a deep red, stained with my blood.

“Don’t worry, it just looks like a lot of blood, you’ll be fine.” He assured me.

“Ok…” I said, still a little wary. Mason just smiled and continued to wipe away my blood, which was a surprising amount. I never knew I could bleed that much.

“So, what happened back there?” I asked, staring into his icy blue eyes, “And don’t lie, I want to know the truth.”

He raised an eyebrow and grinned. “Fine, I will. But later.” I opened my mouth to protest but he put up a hand and said “Don’t worry, I will. You trust me don’t you?”

“No, I don’t trust you.” I deadpanned, crossing my arms.

“I will.” He put a bandage on my neck and then grabbed my hand, yanking me up, “Now, we need to get moving.”

“What? Where are we going?” I asked bewildered.

“We need to get away from here. One Reaper has already made a move to kill you, now the whole Army is going to be after you.”

“What do you mean?” I asked, my head spinning. Reaper? Army? Are these code words for something?

“I’ll explain on the ride.” He simply stated, rushing around and grabbing bags.

“The ride?” Then something hit me, “Wait, where’s the nurse?”

“She’s getting the car for us.” Car? Where are we going? “Come on, we need to get going.”

Quickly, he took my hand and dragged me out the door. “Let’s go.”

“Yeah, um… sure I’m coming…” I stammered, following him until I heard someone call out: “Wait a minute!”

Read on: Chapter Six

6 thoughts on “Chapter Five

Leave a Reply

