New Orleans!

On January 31st, I flew out to New Orleans for the Super Bowl (first class, wohoo!), it was awesome- there really isn’t a better word for it.

Cool 49er blankets and headphones on my seat!

49er blankets and headphones on my seat! Along with a menu of what they were serving, yum!

My seat when it was reclined all the way back, with a TV to the left!

My seat when it was reclined all the way back, with a TV to the left!

I got many, special privileges- perks of knowing some high up people. I met several of the players from the 49ers and even the coach, Jim Harbaugh. When I met Colin Kaepernick, I almost had a heart attack, I was so excited! Alex Smith’s little boy was so cute, he kept trying to run away, so while we were taking pictures, Alex had to grab his hand to prevent him from wandering. Then, on Friday night, I went to a fancy restaurant. There were waiters everywhere and every time I passed by, they all said “Hello miss,” or “Good evening, miss.” I had no idea what I was supposed to say or how I was suppose to act!

For brunch, I sat right in front of Cam Johnson, and, feeling funny, I tweeted him “sitting right in front of you :O” but I don’t think he saw it…
Along the way, I had made some observations- they pronounce New Orleans like “Norlens” and the entire place has a strange feeling- like there were ghosts hanging around. There are many little shops lining the streets selling voodoo dolls, some are small and cute while some look like the real thing- the kind that people actually use to curse others, those were rather freaky. There were also alligator heads, alligator claws, and alligator back scratchers! It was so cool!

Alligator heads of many different sizes! Buy a large and we'll throw in a small one for 25% off!

Alligator heads of many different sizes! Buy a large head and we’ll throw in an alligator claw used as a back scratcher for 25% off!

To me, New Orleans is pretty multicultural and most of the residents don’t have that southern drawl, like you would expect.

The day of the Super Bowl was crazy, fans of both teams, the 49ers and the Ravens, were swarming everywhere! I was pushed and shoved around, I could barely stay close to my family.
The game itself was also lots of fun. I lost my voice screaming for the Niners and when the blackout happened, everyone freaked out.

The giant TV went out!

The giant TV went out!

Too bad the Niners lost, just 5 yards! Darn! But I still had a great time!

What did you guys think about Beyonce’s Halftime Show? I thought it was neat, the blue finger lights were also a cool idea. I made sure to grab several packages on the way out.
Coming back from New Orleans was also great, first class again! I couldn’t sleep on the plane because I was staring at everything, I pressed all the buttons (and in the process, summoning the flight attendances several times).
I can’t really describe how much fun I had, but it was amazing! The food was great, I loved the beignets and the Cajun, and the music- wherever you went, there was music!
Although I was disappointed that the 49ers lost, everything else was incredible. The only downside what that there was no wifi, the absolute horror! I was wifi-less for six days!

Some of the loot I gathered from the NFL Tailgate, parties, and Mardi Gras events!

Some of the loot I gathered from the NFL Tailgate, parties, and Mardi Gras events!

Help! Incoming train!

Help! Incoming train!

Yes, I would like some beignets with my powdered sugar!

Yes, I would like some beignets with my powdered sugar!

The Super Dome from the outside! It was huge!

The Mercedes-Benz Super Dome from the outside! It was huge!

When Beyonce was about to come on stage, they shut off the lights and the blue finger lights lit up the field!

When Beyonce was about to come on stage, they shut off the lights and the blue finger lights lit up the field!

My awesome panorama pic of the Super Dome!

My panorama pic of the Super Dome!

2 thoughts on “New Orleans!

Leave a Reply

